Cavendish Medical Centre

Birkenhead Medical Building, 31 Laird Street, Birkenhead, CH41 8DB

Current time is 12:41 - We're open

NHS

Telephone: 0151 652 1955

National Data Opt Out Scheme – information and links for patients

Posted on April 4th, 2022

Opting out of NHS Digital collecting your data (Type 1 Optout)

If you do not want your identifiable patient data to be shared outside of your GP practice for purposes except for your own care, you can register an optout with your GP practice. This is known as a Type 1 Optout.

Type 1 Optouts were introduced in 2013 for data sharing from GP practices, but may be discontinued in the future as a new optout has since been introduced to cover the broader health and care system, called the National Data Optout. If this happens people who have registered a Type 1 Optout will be informed. More about National Data Optouts is in the section Who we share patient data with.

NHS Digital will not collect any patient data for patients who have already registered a Type 1 Optout in line with current policy. If this changes patients who have registered a Type 1 Optout will be informed.

If you do not want your patient data shared with NHS Digital, you can register a Type 1 Optout with your GP practice. You can register a Type 1 Optout at any time. You can also change your mind at any time and withdraw a Type 1 Optout.

A start date for the Data sharing with NHS Digital will be announced.

If you have already registered a Type 1 Optout with your GP practice your data will not be shared with NHS Digital.

If you wish to register a Type 1 Optout with your GP practice before data sharing starts with NHS Digital, this should be done by returning this form to your GP practice as soon as possible to allow time for processing it. If you have previously registered a Type 1 Optout and you would like to withdraw this, you can also use the form to do this. You can send the form by post or email to your GP practice or call 0300 3035678 for a form to be sent out to you.

If you register a Type 1 Optout after your patient data has already been shared with NHS Digital, no more of your data will be shared with NHS Digital. NHS Digital will however still hold the patient data which was shared with us before you registered the Type 1 Optout.

If you do not want NHS Digital to share your identifiable patient data (personally identifiable data in the diagram above) with anyone else for purposes beyond your own care, then you can also register a National Data Optout. There is more about National Data Optouts and when they apply in the National Data Optout section below.

National Data Optout (opting out of NHS Digital sharing your data)

This applies to identifiable patient data about your health (personally identifiable data in the diagram above), which is called confidential patient information. If you don’t want your confidential patient information to be shared by NHS Digital for purposes except your own care – GP data, you can register a National Data Optout.

If you have registered a National Data Optout, NHS Digital won’t share any confidential patient information about you with other organisations unless there is an exemption to this, such as where there is a legal requirement or where it is in the public interest to do so, such as helping to manage contagious diseases like coronavirus. You can find out more about exemptions on the NHS website

Opening Times

  • Monday
    08:00 until 18:30
  • Tuesday
    08:00 until 18:30
  • Wednesday
    08:00 until 18:30
  • Thursday
    08:00 until 18:30
  • Friday
    08:00 until 18:30
  • Saturday
    CLOSED
  • Sunday
    CLOSED